What are Bharat Stage IV (BS4) Emission Norms? How it is Different from Bharat Stage III (BS3)

@Bharat Stage III (BS3) and Bharat Stage IV (BS4)

The Supreme Court has banned the sale of BS-III (BS3) vehicles from April 1, 2017, in India.

Recently, BS-IV was introduced and bike companies are already updated theirs to BS-IV engine norms.

—Let us learn what is Bharath Stages of emission norms.

What are emission norms?

Emission norms are nothing but the standards set by the government to control air pollutants emitted from motorcycle’s engine, such as hydrocarbons, carbon mono-oxide, nitrous oxides & carbon dioxide….etc

History: Bharat Stage emission norms

It was first introduced in the year 2000, by the Central Pollution Control Board under the recommendation of the government of India. The responsibilities of determining the standards and implementation of the norms is done by Ministry of Environment & Forests and climate change

  • Bharat Stage-II (BS2) – first came into the effect in 2001. It was introduced National Capital Region, National Capital Region, Mumbai, and Chennai. Then it was totally enforced throughout the country by April 2005.
  • Bharat Stage-III (BS3) – came into the effect in April 2005. It was enforced in National Capital Region & 13 major cities**. Later October 2010, It was made compulsory nationwide.
  • Bharat Stage-IV (BS4) – have already been enforced in 13 major cities** since April 2010. Now, emission norms will come effective nationwide from April 2017.

**The 13 major cities are – Mumbai, Pune, Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Surat, Sholapur, Kanpur, Lucknow, Jamshedpur, and Agra.

How will BS-IV be different?

  • Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR)
  • Selective Catalytic Reduction (SCR)

As per the report, Bharat Stage-V (BS5) will not be enforced as there will be direct implementation of Bharat Stage-VI(BS6), by skipping BS5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *